Volunteer Need: Plaster the town!

Immediate volunteer need! We need to get the word out about this event and we only have a few days. Believe it or not, there’s a lot of people that won’t find about it from the internet, and we need to try to reach out to them. The best way to do that is to take our fliers out into the field, plaster them everywhere we can, and leave stacks of them at willing business places and community centers.

Go to our Publicity page, download a flier or two, print them out, and go forth and plaster. If you don’t have a printer at home, consider getting some run off at your local Kinkos or other print shop.

Here’s a partial and hastily cobbled together list of neighborhoods in LA. Pick an area or two you can take responsiblity for, and leave your name, e-mail address, and the area(s) you want to take in a comment to this post. I’ll update the list with volunteers as they come in. If there’s already more than 2 or 3 people listed for the area you want, consider taking another area, or at least coordinating with the people already listed for that area.

Let’s make it happen people!

Downtown: Arts District
Downtown: Bunker Hill
Downtown: Chinatown
Downtown: Fashion District
Downtown: Financial District
Downtown: Historic Core
Downtown: Jewelry District
Downtown: Little Tokyo
Downtown: Toy District

Boyle Heights
Elysian Valley
East Los Angeles
Atwater Village
Eagle Rock
Highland Park
Lincoln Heights
Mt. Washington
Echo Park
Historic Filipinotown
Lafayette Park
Westlake

Hollywood
Beachwood Canyon
Cahuenga Pass
Little Armenia
Thai Town
Koreatown
Melrose District

Harbor City
San Pedro
Los Feliz
Franklin Hills
Silver Lake
Sunset Junction

Baldwin Hills
Crenshaw
Exposition Park
Hyde Park
Jefferson Park
Watts
West Adams

Balboa Park
Canoga Park
Chatsworth
Encino
Granada Hills
Mission Hills
North Hills
North Hollywood
NoHo Arts District
Northridge
Reseda
Reseda Ranch
Sepulveda
Shadow Hills
Sherman Oaks
Sherman Village
Studio City
Sun Valley
Sunland
Sylmar
Tarzana
Toluca Lake
Valley Village
Van Nuys
Winnetka
Woodland Hills

Beverlywood
Brentwood
Century City
Mar Vista
Pacific Palisades
Playa del Rey
Playa Vista
Venice

Westwood
Fairfax District
Miracle Mile
Park La Brea
West Hollywood

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Volunteer Need: Plaster the town!

  1. Becky L

    I will post flyers around Venice!

  2. Bonnie

    I’ll post in santa monica and around the ucla campus.

  3. I will post flyers around West Hollywood

  4. KK

    Becky, I can help with Venice if you want some help – toss me an email at mobiusedge@gmail.com

    I’ll be down in Torrance tomorrow (Thursday) and will try to dance around the Yes on Prop 8 yard signs over there to toss some flyers up.

  5. skinny xavier

    echopark
    i got it.

  6. Thank you for this.

    I am posting in NoHo

  7. Brett

    I am attempting to get USC’s University Park campus flyered…we’ll try to nab the surrounding West Adams neighborhood as well.

  8. Jordan

    I will take Toluca Lake, NoHo Arts, Valley Village and Northridge! See you all Saturday!

  9. Liza

    i will post east la and boyle heights!!

    :]

  10. amanda

    skinny xavier–if you want help with echo park, i can take a portion of it

  11. Heather Haines

    I will take chatsworth!

  12. Marc

    I will be posting in the culver city, mars vista area!!!

  13. Tommy

    I put up 200 flyers today in downtown Arts District, Little Tokyo, and Sunset Junction.

  14. Sarah Schwab

    I’ve got Melrose & Fairfax districts

  15. I’d really like to volunteer for this! Who do I contact?

  16. Kim Crabtree

    If you would like to volunteer, contact Volunteer4FAIR@ gmail.com. If you don’t get a response, email me directly at stonewallfemale@yahoo.com.

  17. Katie Brennecke

    I’ve got Studio City.

  18. I posted about 150 last night up San Pasqual, up to York Bl and up and down Ave 64 (stopped at Marmion Way). Will be in Old Town Pasadena TONIGHT about 830/9PM passing out flyers, posting etc… Look for us!

  19. Richard

    I’m a big supporter and will be there protesting, but I can not put up posters that say “Stop the H8”. It is the wrong message to be sending. Lots of people who voted yes do not “hate” us and we are creating distance from them when we should be building bridges. I am sad to see this site putting out posters with that message. How about a message that says “Equal Treatment For All”?

  20. protest8la

    Richard:

    I created this site, and the fliers, as a reflection of the sentiment in the community at the time. The phrases “Stop the H8”, “I am a victim of H8”, and so on were the prevelant ones out there at launch time, and I saw no need to deviate from that. I think at the rally you will see many diverse sentiments expressed, including some that are angry and some that are positive, and I think there’s room for all of these voices. Besides, people are free to print up and distribute whatever fliers they want to promote the event – these are just ones I suggested.

Leave a Reply

